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How an Indie Musician can make $19,000 in 10 hours using Twitter 23 Jun 2009, 11:54 am

Great post from Amanda Palmer of the Dresdon Dolls on using online media to connecting directly with fans and make $$$. Love the creativity here…

=====

From: Amanda Palmer
Subject: twitter power, or “how an indie musician can make $19,000 in 10 hours using twitter”

this story has just been blowing people’s minds so i figures i should write it down.

1.
FRIDAY NIGHT LOSERS T-SHIRT, $11,000

about a month ago, i was at home on a friday night (loser that i often am when i’m not touring, i almost never go out) and was, of course, on my mac, shifting between emails, links and occasionally doing some dishes and packing for a trip the next day. just a usual friday-night-rock-star-multi-tasking extravaganza.

i twitter whenever i’m online, i love the way it gives me a direct line of communication with my fans and friends.

i had already seen the power of twitter while touring…using twitter i’d gathered crowds of sometimes 200 fans with a DAY’S notice to come out and meet me in public spaces (parks, mostly) where i would play ukulele, sign, hug, take pictures, eat cake, and generally hang out and connect. this was especially helpful in the cities where we’d been unable to book all-ages gigs and there were crushed teenagers who were really grateful to have a shot at connecting with me & the community of amanda/dolls fans.

i’d also been using twitter to organize ACTUAL last-minute gigs…i twittered a secret gig in LA one morning and about 350 folks showed up 5 hours later at a warehouse space….i played piano, filmed by current.tv, and then (different camera crew) did an interview with afterellen.com.
the important thing to undertsand here is that the fans were never part of the plan..,i basically just INVITED my fans to a press day, the press didnt’ plan it…i did.
i was going to be playing in an empty room and doing q&a with afterellen on a coach with only the camera watching.
it was like….why not tell people and do this in a warehouse instead of a hotel lobby or a blank studio? so i did.

it cost me almost nothing. the fans were psyched.

but back to the bigger, cooler story….

so there i am, alone on friday night and i make a joke on twitter (which goes out to whichever of my 30,000 followers are online):

“i hereby call THE LOSERS OF FRIDAY NIGHT ON THEIR COMPUTERS to ORDER, motherfucker.”
9:15 PM May 15th from web

one thing led to another, and the next thing you know there were thousands of us and we’d become the #1 topic trend on twitter.
zoe keating described it as a “virtual flash mob”.

the way twitter works (if you don’t have it) is that certain topics can include a hashtag (#) and if a gazillion people start making posts that include that hashtag, the topic will zoom up the charts of what people are currently discussing. it’s a cool feature.

so anyway, there we were, virtually hanging out on twitter on a friday night. very pleased with ourselves for being such a large group, and cracking jokes.

how do you “hang out” on the internet? well, we collectively came up with a list of things that the government should do for us (free government-issued sweatpants, pizza and ponies, no tax on coffee), AND created a t-shirt.
thank god my web guy sean was awake and being a loser with me on friday night because he throw up the webpage WHILE we were having our twitter party and people started ordering the shirts - that i designed in SHARPIE in realtime) and a slogan that someone suggested: “DON’T STAND UP FOR WHAT’S RIGHT, STAY IN FOR WHAT’S WRONG”. neil gaiman and wil wheaton joined our party. the fdnas felt super-special.

by the end of the night, we’d sold 200 shirts off the quickie site (paypal only) that sean had set up.
i blogged the whole story the next day and in total, in the matter of a few days, we sold over 400 shirts, for $25/ea.

we ended up grossing OVER $11,000 on the shirts.
my assistant beth had the shirts printed up ASAP and mailed them from her apartment.

total made on twitter in two hours = $11,000.
total made from my huge-ass ben-folds produced-major-label solo album this year = $0

2.
WEBCAST AUCTION, $6000

a few nights after that, i blogged and twittered, announcing a “webcast auction” from my apartment.
it went from 6 pm - 9 pm, my assitant beth sat at my side and kept her eyes on incoming bids and twitter feed.
while we hocked weird goods, i sang songs and answered questions from fans. we wore kimonos and drank wine. it was a blast.

people on twitter who were tuned in re-tweeted to other fans. the word spread that it was a fun place to be and watch.
we had, at peak, about 2000 people watching the webcast.

at the suggestion of a fan early in the webcastm anyone could, on demand, send us $20 via paypal and we would chew,
sign and mail them a postcard. we sold about 70, and we read all those names at the end of the webcast and thanked those
people for supporting us. here’s how the sales broke down:

all the items were signed by moi and hand-packed by beth and kayla._ the items and highest bidders were as follows:_ hilary, ukulele used on the european tour: $640 _jake, “guitar hero” plastic guitar controller used in album promo shoot: $250_ lary b, copy neo2 magazine, plus two post-war trade slap-bracelets & a crime-photo set: $230_ devi, glass dildo, with subtley-sordid backstory: $560 _liz b., “hipsters ruin everything” t-shirt, made by blake (get your very own here!!!!): $155.55_shannon m., my bill bryson book, a short history of neary everything: $280_ nikki, huge metal “the establishment” sign, used at rothbury festival for the circus tent i curated: $450 _j.r., purple velvet “A” dress used in the dresden dolls coin-operated boy video shoot: $400_ jessie & alan: who killed amanda palmer vinyl: $100_ nikki: wine bottle, auctioned BY REQUEST!!! $320 _shannon w., torn-to-shit vintage stockings used in the who killed amanda palmer/ michael pope video series: $200 _jodi,
school-note-book break-up letter, written to amanda from jonas woolverton in 7th grade (i still haven’t emailed him about that….): $250_ daryl, ANOTHER wine bottle, by request, that we had LYING AROUND: $320
and…………..
reto emailed, having barely missed the wine bottle, and asked us to send him “something funny” for $129.99. we sent a heath ledger statuette.

total made on twitter in 3 hours, including the postcards, was over $6000.
again, total made on my major-label solo album this year: $0

3.
TWITTER DONATION-ONLY GIG, $1800

a few days later, i twittered a guest-list only event in a recording studio in boston, to take place a week later.
the gig lasted about 5 hours, all told, with soundcheck and signing. i took mostly requests and we had a grand old time.
first come, first served. the first 200 people to ask got in, for free. i asked for donations and made about $2200 in cash.
i gave $400 back to the studio for the space and the help. we sold some weird merch. i think we should call it an even 2k.

total made at last-minute secret twitter gig, in about 5 hours = $2000
major-label record blah blah blah = $0

…..and for fun, and to thank my fans for being awesome, i’ve been doing some twitter perfomance art, including answering their questions by magic-markering my body until it’s covered, and displaying time-lapse make-up application advice….but that’s another story.

TOTAL MADE THIS MONTH USING TWITTER = $19,000
TOTAL MADE FROM 30,000 RECORD SALES = ABSOLUTELY NOTHING.

turn on, tune in, get dropped!!!!!

love,
amanda fucking palmer
http://www.amandapalmer.net
http://www.dresdendolls.com

p.s.
if you want to read the full blogs and see the pictures from the #LOFNOTC events, i blogged here:

1. the friday night that started it all:
http://blog.amandapalmer.net/post/111667948/twitter-the-beautiful-losers-lofnotc

2. the webcast and magic-marker/make-up mayhem:
http://blog.amandapalmer.net/post/127401792/wasnt-this-supposed-to-be-my-fucking-week-off

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FaviconDomain Name Wire

Amazon.com Officially Dumps North Carolina Affiliates 26 Jun 2009, 8:55 am

Company cancels affiliate accounts due to sales tax law.

Amazon.com (NASDAQ: AMZN) has officially dumped its North Caroline affiliates (aka “Associates”), as it threatened to do a couple weeks ago.

North Carolina’s legislature has created a lose-lose-lose situation by preparing to pass a law requiring online companies to collect sales tax if they have affiliate marketers in the state. Since major ecommerce companies such as Amazon will drop affiliates in the state, the law won’t have the desire effect. Instead, North Carolina’s income tax will go down as it puts its constituents out of business. Amazon gets less sales, affiliates lose income, and North Carolina doesn’t get the tax revenue it hoped for.

A Domain Name Wire reader sent this e-mail from Amazon:

We are writing from the Amazon Associates Program to notify you that your Associates account has been closed as of June 26, 2009. This is a direct result of the unconstitutional tax collection scheme expected to be passed any day now by the North Carolina state legislature (the General Assembly) and signed by the governor. As a result, we will no longer pay any referral fees for customers referred to Amazon.com or Endless.com after June 26. We were forced to take this unfortunate action in anticipation of actual enactment because of uncertainties surrounding the legislation’s effective date.

Please be assured that all qualifying referral fees earned prior to June 26, 2009 will be processed and paid in full in accordance with our regular referral fee schedule. Based on your account closure date of June 26, 2009, any final payments will be paid by September 1, 2009.

In the event that North Carolina repeals this tax collection scheme, we would certainly be happy to re-open our Associates program to North Carolina residents.


© DomainNameWire.com 2009.

Review and rate domain name parking companies at Parking Judge.

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FaviconThe Frager Factor

The Bar Is Open and Twitter is Buying 25 Jun 2009, 7:42 am

Here's a creative use of Twitter during recessive and competitive times: Clubs are sending tweets to followers with access codes to relay to the doorman to bypass the line and get in free, and others to signal the bartender for free or discounted drinks. A great way to drive traffic offline by using online promotion.Zappos is known to do this to invite people to parties and even impromptu events

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FaviconDotSauce Magazine

Google Voice Launching Any Day Now: Be Ready to Reserve Your Phone Number! 24 Jun 2009, 8:25 am

The quietly anticipated Google Voice suite (formerly known as GrandCentral) is set to go live any day now.

Gizmodo reports that Google has reserved 1 million new phone numbers from Level 3 communications.

An article by Adam Mills of the Charlotte Examiner points out this twitter update by one of the Google Voice Founders who states they are working 24/7 to get it released!

Just What is Google Voice?

google-voice-logoUsing VoIP technology (this means any mobile device, even your iPod), users will be able to route all their phone calls from any mobile device as well as send and manage SMS text and voice mail through one central web based location.

Google Voice will also feature all the bells and whistles you’d expect from a Google app, like these examples…

  • Voicemail transcripts - Read what your voicemail says
  • Share voicemail - Forward or download voicemails
  • Conference calling - Join people into a single call
  • Call record - Record calls and store them online
  • GOOG-411 - Check directory assistance
  • Block calls - Keep unwanted callers at bay
  • Phone routing - Phones ring based on who calls
  • Forwarding phones - Add phones and decide which ring

Goodbye Phone Contracts. Hello VoIP!

The outlook is bleak for the phone carriers of today. VoIP and WiFi hot spots will soon replace these ghastly cell contracts and finally open the mobile web to the masses.

SecondLife virtual world has generated over 15 billion minutes in free online voice calls in just under 2 years and wildly popular Skype has reportedly played host to 200 billion minutes in it’s 6 years in operation.

Here is a quick video demo of some Google Voice iPhone features in action.

Will There Be A Google Voice Phone Number Land Rush?

This could be an opportunity to pick up an awesome phone number for your online business!

You can sign up to receive an email alert when Google Voice goes live at the Voice home page.

Since signing up will require a unique Google account to claim a Voice phone number, I think this phone number rush will be comparable to the recent Facebook username rush.  (Where I scored facebook.com/MarkFulton!)

It is also likely that you will not be able to choose the digits of your phone number, but who knows? We’ll have to wait and see!

I will be looking out for the launch announcement email, you may want to do the same and tell your friends and associates.

This article is from DotSauce.com Domain Name Magazine.

Google Voice Launching Any Day Now: Be Ready to Reserve Your Phone Number!

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FaviconThe Domains

The End Of PPC? Google Starts Testing “Pay For Performance” 23 Jun 2009, 8:08 am

According to a report in Media Post today, Google chas begun soliciting advertisers to participate in an “experiment” that puts information, such as size and price, about products in search results. The ads will be served to a select group of people searching the Web in the United States at first.

The ads are not billed by the click, similar to the traditional pay-per-click (PPC) model, but rather when the person purchases the item or “performance based,” meaning that Google would only get paid when someone made a purchase through the ad.

The report further states that although a Google spokesperson confirmed the “test,” he declined to provide details on the product listings because it has not gone live.

“At Google, we’re constantly experimenting with new features, tools and visual representations to improve the user experience and usefulness of our ads,” says a Google spokesperson. “In accordance with that philosophy, we’re planning a beta test to show richer product information in the ads for shopping-related queries. This test will only be visible to a small number of U.S. users.”

The downside to the advertisers, it that new model can have high commission rates, which could cause them to spend even more than on traditional PPC if they sell products

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FaviconGo Daddy Founder & CEO Bob Parsons' Personal Blog

It WORKS! How to turn Google & Yahoo into money machines for your biz! 5 Jun 2009, 8:07 pm


Watch Video Blog

Bob steps you through the ins and outs of PAID search engine advertising.

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FaviconAffiliate Marketing Blog by Shawn Collins

Vanity URLs on Facebook Starting This Saturday 9 Jun 2009, 10:40 pm

It’s been a few years since I encouraged affiliate marketers to secure their names on MySpace. Since then, tons of social media sites have cropped up, and there are services like Knowem where you can secure your user name across many social sites at once.

But one big site that hasn’t given the option to include a user name in the URL has been Facebook.

Well, that’s all changing in a few days, according to the Facebook blog.

Starting at 12:01 a.m. EDT on Saturday, June 13, you’ll be able to choose a username on a first-come, first-serve basis for your profile and the Facebook Pages that you administer by visiting www.facebook.com/username/. You’ll also see a notice on your home page with instructions for obtaining your username at that time.

You will be able to choose a user name for your profile, as well as each of the Pages you administer on Facebook.

So set your reminder now – don’t let this be like the domain, Gmail name, etc. that got away.

More details at http://blog.facebook.com/blog.php?post=90316352130.

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FaviconRSSmeme

Top Ten Myths About Google Analytics 28 May 2009, 2:30 pm

http://www.rssmeme.com/story/11494165/top-ten-myths-about-google-analytics Shared 11 times. Tagged Advanced (31) Beginner (54) Business Insights (37) Code and Configuration (42) .

We've noticed some misconceptions about Google Analytics floating around, and we thought we'd take a shot at correcting the most common ones. Without further ado, here they are, the top ten myths about Google Analytics debunked.

MYTH 1: "You get what you pay for." Google Analytics is free, which means the system is down a lot.

Google Analytics makes use of the same network of secure and reliable data centers used to power Google.com, making downtime an extremely rare occurrence. We have a large team focused exclusively on keeping your data safe and accessible, and benefit from multiple redundancies in our infrastructure around the globe (this makes us fast as well).

We even rely on Google Analytics for our own mission-critical products such as AdWords, which see huge volumes of traffic every day. If you're still having doubts, we'd encourage you to talk to some users and ask them how their experience has been with uptime.

MYTH 2: Google Analytics is basic and doesn't have any "advanced" features or metrics


Ack, this one is a tough one to swallow! A more frequent complaint is actually that Google Analytics has too much data. The product includes over 90 standard reports with more than 125 metrics and dimensions covering everything from visits to internal site search queries.

Custom reports and user-defined variables allow you to create your own metrics and reports where the standard ones don't meet your needs. With Pivoting, Advanced Segmentation, Secondary Dimensions, Event Tracking and the ability to share customizations, Google Analytics reports are more powerful than ever.

Google Analytics may look "basic," on the surface, but it can do a lot more than you think! If you have complex needs try talking to a Google Analytics Authorized Consultant or diving into the documentation on the Google Code Site.

More Info (Feature List, Custom Reports, Advanced Segmentation, Analytics API)

MYTH 3: Google Analytics only supports third-party cookies

False! Google Analytics has always used first-party, not third-party cookies. First-party cookies are important because they allow Google Analytics to track repeat visitors, so you can see which keyword, referring site, etc is responsible for bringing buyers even when it takes multiple visits for them to convert.

MYTH 4: Google Analytics is not really accurate

If you've spent time doing web analytics work, you'll know the sinking feeling that comes when two sets of numbers don't match. If you're experiencing a data discrepancy, don't panic. There are many others in the same boat.

Google Analytics uses JavaScript tags to collect data. This industry-standard method yields reliable trends and a high degree of precision, but it's not perfect. Most of the time, if you are noticing data discrepancies greater than 10%, it's due to an installation issue. Common problems include JavaScript errors, redirects, untagged pages and slow client-side load times.

For tips on how to sensibly approach data reconciliation, check out this post by Avinash Kaushik, Google's Analytics Evangelist, or this whitepaper on accuracy in Google Analytics. You can also talk to an expert.

All web analytics tools face the same technical limitations posed by JavaScript tags, so if another vendor claims their tool is more accurate, ask for some evidence.

More Info (Web Analytics Data Reconciliation Checklist, Whitepaper)

MYTH 5: It's not possible to export your data from Google Analytics

Not true! You have two options for exporting data. Use the "export" button at the top of each report to export the current view in PDF or XML (up to 500 rows). Or, use the new Analytics Export API to extract large amounts of data in any format you like. Also, if you want to share data with a colleague, you can schedule reports to be delivered directly to their email inbox, or even send regular updates to your own email address.

More Info (How to Export your Data, Analytics API)

MYTH 6: With Google Analytics you can't control your data

You have three options for data sharing in Google Analytics. You can change these options at any time from inside your Analytics account.
  • do not share your data
  • share your data with Google to improve its products
  • share your data anonymously for benchmarking

No matter which option you choose, your data is protected by several layers of defense:
  1. Dedicated security and infrastructure teams
  2. Multiple redundancies to prevent data loss
  3. Network redundancies to keep data accessible
  4. Advanced security, firewalling and routing to keep data secure
  5. Restricted access and principle of least privilege for personnel
If you opt-out of data sharing, your data will remain within Google Analytics and will not be shared with other products or services. If you decide to share your data with Google, it will be used to improve those products and services. Lastly, if you decide to share your data anonymously with others, it will be blended with other data to support the Google Analytics benchmarking feature. For more information on these options and what they mean, refer to the Google Analytics data sharing FAQ.

If you're still concerned, Google also offers a software product called Urchin (www.urchin.com) that you can run locally.

More Info (Data Sharing FAQ, Google Privacy Policy)

MYTH 7: There is no professional support for Google Analytics

Contrar! We flipped the model. Instead of providing an expensive analytics product with a one-size-fits-all professional services plan, we provide a free product and let you purchase the professional services that fit your needs.

There are several ways to get support: email support, help forums, the help center, and a network of Authorized Consultants. Authorized Consultants speak your language, accept your currency and often share your timezone. More than 80 companies across the globe provide a full range of installation and analysis support for Google Analytics. Some examples of things they can help you with are:
  • Validate and troubleshoot your installation
  • Integrate your analytics data with other data sources or CRM
  • Optimize your marketing efforts
  • Train your staff on how to use Analytics
  • Respond to support tickets, phone calls and provide on-site consulting
To find out more, give one or two of them a call. Our Authorized Consultants are hand-picked and are the best in the business.

More Info (Google Analytics Authorized Consultants)

MYTH 8: Google Analytics does not support A/B or multivariate testing and isn't well-integrated with other tools

Google offers a full range of marketing products including a free testing tool called Google Website Optimizer. You can use it to test different page elements and find out which ones yield the highest conversion rate and ROI. You can also use Google Analytics in conjunction with Website Optimizer to create an optimization plan for your site.

Google Analytics is also integrated with many of Google's other business products including AdWords, AdSense, and AdPlanner. It is also widely supported by third party tools ranging from content management systems, to email suites, to call center applications. In addition, you'll find many products that are complementary to Google Analytics including DoubleClick, TVAds, Webmaster Tools, Google Trends, Insights for Search, Feedburner, and more.

More Info (Google Website Optimizer, GWO Blog)

MYTH 9: You can't segment data in Google Analytics

In the fall of 2008, Google Analytics released three new Enterprise Features: Advanced Segmentation, Custom Reports and Motion Charts. Advanced Segmentation lets you segment visits by dozens of metrics and dimensions such as geographic location, time on site, referral site and much much more. You can create segments on the fly and apply them to virtually all the standard reports in Google Analytics as well as custom reports.


More Info (In Depth Look at Advanced Segments, Video)

MYTH 10: You have to spend a lot of money to get "real" web analytics

Getting a return from your Analytics data does take an investment. The most important investment to start with is making sure you or someone at your organization has the expertise and time to put your data to use. If at that point you still feel you need to pay more for a more complicated tool, that's OK, but remember that every dollar you spend on a tool takes away from money you could be spending on actually getting results, i.e. hiring or contracting a talented analyst (see the 90/10 Rule).

The question sometimes comes up, "if Google Analytics is free, what's in it for Google?" Google benefits from Google Analytics in two ways. First, if webmasters build better sites, it helps us connect searchers with the information they need faster. Second, if advertisers use Google Analytics, they are able to see their advertising ROI, which helps us demonstrate the value of Google AdWords. Both aspects have helped create a strong business case for Google Analytics over the years.

Google Analytics is getting more powerful with each new update, and you may be surprised by what it can do. Find out more by attending an Analytics Seminar for Success or talking to an Authorized Consultant in your area. If you're an AdWords advertiser, you can also speak with your Customer Service Representative.

More Info (90/10 Rule, Google Analytics Authorized Consultants, Seminars for Success)

Leave a comment

That's it for the top 10 myths. Still not convinced? Leave a comment and let us know!

Posted by Sebastian Tonkin, Google Analytics Team

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FaviconNettuts+

How to Create Screencasts 22 May 2009, 7:56 am

At least a few times each week, I’m emailed about how I create the video tutorials that show up on the site each week. I think many of you are under the impression that it’s much more difficult than it really is. If I can do it, anyone can. I’ll show you the exact setup I use.

Step 1: Use Good Software

If you’ve watched my screencasts, you know that I switch between using a Mac and a PC. The never-ending Mac/PC debate is obnoxious, in my opinion. Both platforms have much to offer, which is why I use them side-by-side.

Home Office

PC Users

Hands down, the best screencast software that I’ve been able to find is Camtasia Studio, from TechSmith. Not only does it allow for recording AND pausing (which strangely, some programs don’t offer), but it also allows you to edit the resulting video, add transitions, splice videos together, add titles, etc. Once finished, you’re given a plethora of video formats to write to. Unfortunately, it’s not free; however, they do provide a full-working 30 day trial. If you’re serious about creating video tutorials for your blog, just fork it over. It’ll pay for itself rather quickly.

Camtasia Studio is wonderful because it was built for the sole purpose of producing screencasts. That means that you’re not forced to deal with as much overhead. Let’s face it, we’re not building huge movies, just simple tutorials! How much power do you need? If, despite the easy-to-use interface, you still have questions about the software, they’ve provided hours worth of video training which shows you exactly how to produce your screencasts. Be sure to watch those.

Alternatives

Mac Users

When recording on my Mac, I’ve found iShowU to be the best option. It’s not perfect, but it does offer an amazingly easy to use interface for recording. Contrary to Camtasia Studio, iShowU is only for recording. You’ll need to use additional software, such as iMovie or Adobe Premiere, to edit your video. While I’ve experimented with both programs, if I’m honest, I generally transfer the .mov file over to my PC where I edit it with Camtasia! What can I say, it just works.

Alternatives

Step 2: Use a Decent Mic

Use a Mic

The biggest “mistake” that most beginning screencasters make is when it comes to their choice of microphone, or lack thereof (as it was in my case, initially)! Using your computer’s built-in microphone will work just fine for quick videos; however, if you want your tutorials to be as professional as possible, invest $100 in a decent USB condenser microphone.

The keywords in that previous sentence are condenser and decent. Don’t let anyone convince you that you need a $1000 ribbon mic to record simple screencasts.

What you want is a good $75-$100 USB condenser mic. That’s all.

What I Use

Personally, I’m using a Blue USB Snowball mic which I bought off Amazon for about $85, at the time. Granted, the audio quality on my screencasts could be way better! I could record in a sound-proof room and use $5000 worth of compressor/limiters to improve the quality. While that might be necessary for REALLY HIGH-QUALITY videos, it’s simply unnecessary for the the sporadic video tuts that you’ll be creating for your readers, or ours!

In addition to its built-in stand, it looks neat next to your desk. :)

USB Snowball Mic

Why Condenser?

Condenser microphones, though more expensive, have a much broader frequency response. Couple this with the fact that they are much more sensitive to sound, and you’ll find that they’re wonderfully suited for recording voices. In fact, except in rare circumstances, all of the singers on the radio you love are singing through a condenser mic — just a much more expensive one!

Don’t skimp on this. If you’re browsing Amazon looking for a microphone, don’t buy one that isn’t a condenser. You’ll regret it.

Step 3: Resolution

This step is highly dependent upon who you’re recording for. If all of your readers are on super-fast connections, you can get away with recording at a higher resolution and saving it as a much larger and high-quality .mov. However, that’s not the case for most. I’d recommend that you begin by changing the resolution to 1024×768 and record full-screen.

Correct resolution
Apple -> System Preferences -> Displays

Step 4: Recording Settings

If using iShowU, here are the settings I prefer.

iShowU Settings
  • Audio Quality: high
  • Frame Rate: 4 or 5
  • Capture Size: 1024×768
  • Bit Rate: don’t exceed 512kb

If you’re using a different utility to record, these settings will still be available. You’ll just have to search for them!

Step 5: Producing the Video

You’ve finished recording and are now ready to export the file? Mostly, you’ll want to choose between three file types:

  1. .mov
  2. .flv
  3. .m4v

Technically, the latter option is your best choice. However, you’ll find that many video hosting sites don’t allow this file to be uploaded, unfortunately. For that reason alone, I generally produce my videos as FLVs.

FLV Filetype

Settings

The options below can be experimented with quite a bit. These are what I’ve come to prefer:

Video Settings
  • Audio Quality: high
  • Key Frame Rate: 4
  • Video Quality About 75%
  • Max Bitrate: 475

Step 6: Video Hosting

This is where the most mistakes are made. Finding a suitable video host is paramount. As file sizes can get quite large, I’d highly recommend that you don’t host them yourself. While sites like screencasts.com offer a pay service — which I’ve used — I’ve found it to be too expensive.

Instead, I experimented with every single video host: YouTube, Blip, Vimeo, Viddler, etc. It doesn’t matter how well you record your screencast, if you upload it to a site like YouTube (without paying for the HD), you’ll end up with a shabby product. After comparing the quality of each, I found that Blip.tv easily provides the best quality, by a landslide. From what I’ve seen, it’s essentially WYSIWYG. In addition, they allow you to have complete control over the branding of the video player.

Step 7: Post on Your Blog

The final step is to grab the embed code that Blip provides…

Embed Code

and paste it into your new posting. Voila!

Screencast

Needless to say, you can get WAY more advanced than I’ve done. The videos I create aren’t stellar by any means. The audio/transitions/titles could be much better. Having said that, it gets the job done just fine.

Step 8: Helpful Tips

1. Blip Uploading

Blip.tv will automatically convert your file to FLV if you upload a different format. From my experiences, the conversion isn’t too excellent. Luckily, they allow you the option to upload multiple versions of your video. If you do choose to upload a M4v/Mov file, take a few extra moments to also produce the FLV version as well. When you upload, Blip will use your format rather than converting on its own — resulting in a much higher quality video.

2. Learn the Pause Button

As you’ll quickly find, it’s really tough to produce a perfectly typed/spoken video tutorial on the first try. Sometimes, you’ll need to take a moment to catch your breath and gather your thoughts. For this reason, memorize the keyboard short-cut for the “PAUSE” button. This way, if you get confused, you can take a moment to figure out what the problem is — and the viewer is none the wiser!

3. Work Off Notes

None of us write perfect code on the first try. It usually takes a dozen rounds of back-and-forths before we’re happy! Before creating your screencast, go through the project once before. Then, while recording, work off your previously created code to reduce the risk of mindless errors.

I use two computers side-by-side; so I generally keep my code editor open on the other computer while I record.

4. Don’t Remove Every Mistake

Just because you make a typo or forget a semi-colon doesn’t mean that you should edit that section out. Viewers love to learn how you debug your applications! Do you think they won’t make the same mistakes at some point or another? By leaving your debugging in, they’ll learn how to do the same for their projects. So as long as you don’t take too long, keep the mistakes!


So there you have it. If you’ve never created a video tutorial before, these tools will get the job done for you! Leave a comment with a link to your screencasts, if they apply to web development!

P.S. I’m looking for a talented teacher and screencaster to create a new video series for Nettuts+. If you’ve got the chops, email me and include a link to one of your screencasts. nettutsblog@gmail.com.

 


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FaviconNiche Store Builder

Free 12 Week Learning from a Master! 22 May 2009, 10:22 am

Unless you live under a rock in the affiliate website world, you have heard of Jeremy Schoemaker, aka Shoemoney! Last night I got an email from him that kinda shocked me! Jeremy has decided to provide a FREE Shoemoney 12 Week Affiliate Training Course!

The 12 Week Shoemoney Training Course

This is priceless for everyone, including seasoned affiliates! Getting a 12 week step by step look into one of the Guru’s of  Marketing process is priceless! Jeremy has said he will cover the following:

  • Week 1 - The Beginner’s Guide To Internet Marketing
  • Week 2 - Affiliate Marketing 101: Everything You Need To Know To Start Promoting Products
  • Week 3 - Market Research: How To Crush Your Competitors And Discover Hot Niches
  • Week 4 - Pay Per Click: How To Earn Cash With Each Click
  • Week 5 - SEO: How To Rank Higher And Increase Traffic
  • Week 6 - Site Creation: How To Build A Site With Zero Programming Knowledge
  • Week 7 - Content Creation: How To Create Articles That Attract Users And Increase Sales
  • Week 8 - Marketing: How To Use Social Media To Spread Your Brand
  • Week 9 - Make That Cash: 10 Ways To Monetize Your Site And Increase Profitability
  • Week 10 - Testing & Tracking: How To Optimize Your Site & Make Sense Of The Figures
  • Week 11 - Building Your Team: How To Network With Others And Find Long Term Partners
  • Week 12 - Launch Day: How To Kick Start Your Business And Manage Your Projects

I Signed Up - You Should Sign Up Now as Well - ITS FREE!

Post from: The Niche Store Builder

Free 12 Week Learning from a Master!

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FaviconAffiliate Marketing Blog by Shawn Collins

Seven Common Pitfalls New Affiliates Should Avoid 20 May 2009, 9:04 am

Missy Ward has created a helpful and brief primer for new affiliates called “Seven Common Pitfalls New Affiliates Should Avoid.”

The presentation covers some affiliate pitfalls that she wishes someone would have shared with her when she first started out.

Very helpful information for new affiliates, as well as seasoned veterans. While I have been an affiliate since 1997, it’s always helpful to have things reinforced.

The “Seven Common Pitfalls New Affiliates Should Avoid.” presentation is part of a series that Missy and myself are developing to assist new affiliate marketers with their business.

Last week, I posted a presentation, “Make Money Online with Affiliate Programs,” where I went through the steps I would take to create a new affiliate site.

Watch Missy’s presentation at http://geekcast.fm/archives/seven-common-pitfalls-new-affiliates-should-avoid/.

Subscribe to the GeekCast.fm RSS feed to get all of these presentations, as well as the other podcasts on GeekCast.fm.

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ShoeMoney Tools Ups Affiliate payout to 50% LIFETIME 19 May 2009, 7:03 am

After much internal discussion we have decided to up the ShoeMoney Tools affiliate payout to be a 50% LIFETIME revenue share.

What does this mean for those who are already doing thousands per month in affiliate commissions? From May going forward your payouts will be increased 30% more even if the signups were from months ago.

This is a lifetime revenue share…. and its hot!

You can signup for shoemoney tools affiliate program here

Do you use Facebook? Checkout http://www.facebook.com/shoemoney

This Post Is From ShoeMoney’s Internet Marketing Blog

ShoeMoney Tools Ups Affiliate payout to 50% LIFETIME

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FaviconSearch Engine Journal

The ROI of PPC Beats Most Advertising Opportunities 18 May 2009, 9:09 am

At Fuel Interactive, we’re always trying to find more profitable advertising and marketing channels for our clients. That means we test beyond those channels already known to have the best ROI (which are email marketing and PPC). Some of our clients have virtually unlimited budgets, so we’ve been able to try a variety of different channels.

I want to show you comparative results on some of the advertising opportunities we’ve tested.

NOTE: this case study is in the hotel industry. Some of these channels are only applicable to travel and hospitality, or to our client’s locale. For other clients, look at advertising opportunities specific to their verticals and geography.

Here’s what we saw in February 2009, which was a strong hotel booking month, for one of our clients. The numbers here are similar proportionally to what we’ve seen in other months.

roascompare

*ROAS is an ROI metric = revenue / ad spend


Where Was The Best ROI?

To protect client identity and competitive advantages, I can’t share the spends or sales volumes, but I can tell you that the lion’s share of revenue came from Pay Per Click.

The best ROI results came from:

  • Pay Per Click advertising
  • Text ad placements on locally-focused websites

The advantage of some of these local placements is that the cost per click can be much lower than what you pay in AdWords- at times, 50% less or more. For example, we can get clicks from MyrtleBeach.com for less than $0.50, which the average AdWords CPC for many of our hotels is $1.30. Naturally, your cost per sale is lower, and this increases your ROI.

TripAdvisor achieved a great ROI, but we couldn’t spend a lot there. The overall revenue was a drop in the bucket compared to PPC.

Details on PPC Efforts

Pay Per Click included Google AdWords, Yahoo, and MSN. As usual, Google provided the bulk of clicks and sales. Yahoo produced the best overall ROI in PPC, but a significantly lower volume of sales than AdWords. MSN produced its typically low click volume.

AdWords campaigns were focused on customers both new to Myrtle Beach and customers familiar with specific hotel brands. We used a mix of Search and Content networks. Google’s newer approach to Content Network keywords yielded ROAS above 300%.

Six Budget Allocation Recommendations for Online Advertisers

For those who are allocating ad spends online, this case study and our other client experiences lead me to recommend the following:

  1. Test new ad channels ONLY if you can track ROI via your analytics. Also, use call tracking to find out how many sales come via each channel.
  2. Spend where you get the best ROI. Do not pay for clicks blindly. Don’t pay for impressions only unless you want to be accused being stuck in the 20th century.
  3. Spend the bulk of your ad spend on pay per click, mainly AdWords, but also as much as you can in Yahoo.
  4. For new customers, PPC is your strongest option. But don’t neglect appropriately stimulating return sales with emails to your house list.
  5. Find media placement opportunities on locally-focused sites, especially those that use text ads and charge lower than the going AdWords CPC for your niche.
  6. Consider directly approaching sites with good ROAS from the AdWords content network. If they have their own advertising opportunities, you may be able to lower your CPC and improve your ROI from these sites.

Check out the SEO Tools guide at Search Engine Journal.

The ROI of PPC Beats Most Advertising Opportunities

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FaviconSearch Engine Journal

Scribd Launches E-Book Store 18 May 2009, 4:18 am

Scribd, one of the largest social publishing site has began testing a new e-book store which it hopes to compete with the growing popularity of  Amazon’s Kindle Store and the Kindle e-book reader.  But aside from establishing the Internet’s largest online store of user-uploaded contents and publications, Scribd is also hoping to disprove the criticism that it might be perpetrating online piracy of printed books.

According to the Scribd, its online store would benefit document sellers through:

  • Generous Revenue Split: Keep 80% of revenue, with no monthly membership fees
  • Flexible Pricing and Preview: Make real-time changes to pricing, preview, and download options for your works
  • Instant Analytics: Receive sales data immediately
  • Built-in viral marketing: Share previews of your “for sale” items quickly and easily using Scribd’s social features
  • Multi-platform distribution: Ensure your works are available on most future mobile and e-reader devices

But aside from these benefits, those who will opt to sell their documents on Scribd will be able to manage their own digital rights by allowing them to set their preference on how their documents will be used by Scribd users. These include:

  • download the PDF 
  • viewed on Scribd only
  • download PDF with DRM
  • download ePub with DRM

After setting the preference, Scribd will also help ensure that there will be no unauthorized downloading of documents from the Scribd site  through its Copyright Management System (CMS).

Additionally, Scribd is also preparing to launch an iPhone application for the Scribd store which is very much like the Kindle for iPhone app.

So, would  a Scribd E-Book Reader not too far behind?

Check out the SEO Tools guide at Search Engine Journal.

Scribd Launches E-Book Store

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FaviconAffiliate Marketing Blog by Shawn Collins

LinkShare Enhances Deep Linking Interface 14 May 2009, 5:35 am

LinkShare released a new Deep Linking Interface in the Publisher Dashboard back in March, and now they’ve refined it a bit.

The Deep Linking Interface makes it easy for affiliates to select a page or pages from an advertiser site and create tracking links to those pages.

The changes make it easier to use. After selecting the advertiser from the drop down, a link that says “Browse Advertiser Site” will appear. Clicking on this link will open up the advertiser’s site in a new window.

More details at http://www.linkshareblog.com/2009/05/12/enhancement-to-our-deep-linking-interface/.

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FaviconWebsite Magazine

Ebay Eliminates Auction Listing Fees for Casual Users 13 May 2009, 7:18 am

Online auction marketplace eBay is eliminating some fees. Users will soon be able to list up to five items for auction every 30 days without paying any listing fees - which previously ranged from $0.10 to $4.00. Under the new fee schedule sellers will continue to pay a flat 8.75% of the sale price but there is a cap of $20 per item. eBay...

[[ This is a content summary only. Visit my website for full links, other content, and more! ]]

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FaviconMichael Wong .com Blog

Success: 8 Ordinary People Achieving Extraordinary EBusiness Success 13 May 2009, 10:06 am

A 17 year old high school dropout rejects an offer of $1.5 million and a car for her MySpace layout website. Markus Frind earns $10 million a year working just 10 hours a week on his free online dating site. A 62 year old grandmother creates the world’s most popular online greeting cards site, valued [...]

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FaviconTraffikd

33 New Social Media and Social Networking Sites Added 12 May 2009, 3:54 pm

The most frequently visited page on this site is the categorized list of social networking sites. That page hadn’t been updated in a while and I had a lot of sites suggested for inclusion sitting in my inbox, so I’m happy to say that 33 more sites have been added to the list.

There is a great deal of variety in the sites that are featured (hopefully the categorization helps to make it more useful). Some are social media sites with user submitted links and voting to see which links get promoted to the front page (Digg-style), and others are intended to allow people with common interests to connect in various ways.

Here is a listing of the sites that were just added. Be sure to visit the list of social media and social networking sites for more.

Bookmarking:

Jack of All Links

Mister Wong

Cars and Auto:

Car Community

Dating:

BachelorPlace

Education:

Curriki

We the Teachers

Fashion/Clothing:

Springleap - T-shirts

General Networking:

ECpod

MyWebProfile

Plaxo

Health/Medical:

DrConnected

Sanewire - recovery

Internet Marketing:

Gooruze

Movies:

Reelempire

News:

BookmarkUs.net

Mad or Love

Zoomit (Canada)

Photo Sharing:

eSnips

Professional:

CitiAlly

MyCareer.ge

Naymes

Venture Capitalist Network

Sports:

KeeCricket

Prep Champs (high school sports)

Strands

Travel:

TrekCafe

Miscellaneous:

Clubnet UK - clubbing

Freagle

GreekStrength - fraternities and sororities

Match A Dream

Scoop.at - Austria

Sydney Networkers

Velospace - Bicycles

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FaviconDomain Name Wire

Develop Domains, Then Submit to Directories 12 May 2009, 8:24 am

Paid directory submission is critical to jump starting search rankings.

So you’ve developed some of your better domain names. You’ve got good content and a nice design. But how do you move up in the search rankings?

Most people know that you need (preferably one way) links pointing to your web site to get Google’s attention. There are many ways to get these, but most of my SEO friends agree you need to submit to two paid web directories: Yahoo and Best of the Web.

Search engines are better at finding new sites now than they were before, but having a directory listing on these sites still seems to matter. When I look at who ranks above me for key terms on a geo web site I recently launched, most of them are listed on both of these directories.

But wait, aren’t web directories antiquated? Doesn’t everyone use search instead of directories? Yes, and you should expect little traffic from web directories. But because the links are validated by humans, search engines trust directories. And because the top directories charge a substantial listing fee, search engines trust that they won’t be filled with a bunch of spam sites.

Yahoo! Directory - Yahoo!’s directory is the gold standard, but it will cost you. The fee is $299 per year. Your site is reviewed withinin 7 days.

Best of the Web - Best of the Web has been around since 2004 1994, and Google’s founders referred to it when they designed their search system. It’s generally considered the second most important directory to Yahoo and costs much less. You can either pay $99 per year or $249 for a lifetime listing. BOTW frequently offers coupons and promotion codes. (During May, enter coupon code MAYDAY to save 15%.)


© DomainNameWire.com 2009.

Review and rate domain name parking companies at Parking Judge.

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FaviconVandelay Design Blog

How to Set Up Your First Site with LightCMS 6 May 2009, 4:05 pm

Choosing the right content management system for a particular project can be a critical decision that has long-lasting impact on the client and the success of their website. Unfortunately, with so many options out there it is difficult to get to know more than just those that you use on a regular basis.

In this post I’d like to present some basic information about LightCMS and provide a tutorial for getting a simple website working with the basic features of LightCMS. This is a very simple tutorial that only covers the basics of the system, but hopefully it will be helpful to learn a little bit more about LightCMS in case it can be of use to you and your clients.

LightCMS

Intro to LightCMS:

LightCMS is a content management system created by Element Fusion. Since there are a ton of CMS options out there (see CMS Toolbox) it’s important to know what LightCMS is and what it is not before getting into the tutorial.

LightCMS is intended to be an excellent solution for both designers and clients. In order to use LightCMS on a website, the site will have to be hosted on their servers. As a designer you can sign up to be a reseller and use the system on your clients’ websites.

Everything is fully brandable, so it will appear to be your own CMS rather than your clients knowing that it is going through LightCMS/Element Fusion. As a reseller you will be able to offer your clients a powerful and user-friendly content management system and hosting package, and you’ll receive a commission on those monthly payments. The rates can be adjusted by the designer, but the suggested retail prices start at $29 per month and go up from there. The package needed will be determined by factors like the number of pages on the site, the amount of disk space, and the number of users.

LightCMS includes a lot of useful features, such as blogs, photo galleries, a form builder, event calendars, RSS feeds, sitewide search, online donations and more. Once the site is created, users can login and easily and quickly make changes to their pages, add new elements and add new pages.

Of course, like any other CMS, it is great for some clients but not the perfect fit for all situations. Hopefully this article will help you to get more familiar with LightCMS in order to determine if it could be of use to you and your clients.

Benefits to Designers:

Because the emphasis from LightCMS is signing up designers as resellers in order to ultimately get more business, you can expect that there will be some significant benefits for designers who use LightCMS.

1 - Residual Income

As a reseller you’ll have the opportunity to make some recurring income on the monthly fees that clients are paying to use the system. The suggested retail rates include a 35% markup, so if your client is paying $29 you will make $10, if your client is paying $49 you will make $20, and so on. If you’re adding new clients regularly you can see that this would add up over time.

2 - Support

One of the major headaches that discourages many designers from being hosting resellers is that there is often added responsibility in terms of customer service. With LightCMS you can provide customers with their support email address if it is something that you can’t take care of or don’t have time to deal with.

3 - No Design Restrictions

LightCMS works by using editable regions in specific places on the page where you want them to appear. As a result, you can create any type of design you like and simply insert a small piece of code to allow clients the ability to edit the page. You won’t be held back in terms of design because of the system.

4- Free to Become a Reseller

There are no sign up fees or other costs involved with becoming a reseller. You can sign up for free and see how you like the system. Maybe you’ll like it enough to use with all of your clients, or maybe you’ll only want to use it every now and then in the right situation. Either way, it won’t cost you anything to become a reseller.

5 - Private-Labeled

You can replace the LightCMS branding with your own to give clients a consistent experience with you and your company.

6 - Free Websites

Since LightCMS needs to be hosted on their servers, you won’t be able to set up a test site on another server while you learn the system or while you’re developing a site for a client. However, they offer an unlimited number of free websites with certain limitations. Free sites can have up to 3 pages, which is enough to use for testing the system out and start working on a client site. If/when you want to upgrade it’s an easy process.

7 - Marketing Materials

As a reseller of LightCMS you will have access and approval to use their marketing materials on your own website, including a feature list, a pricing grid, and videos.

Benefits to Clients:

1 - A Feature-Rich CMS

While there are other CMS options out there to chose from, including a number of free choices, LightCMS gives users easy access to a lot of features. In some cases, the features that are standard with LightCMS could be built on another CMS, but they may take more customization or development work, and ultimately more money.

2 - Easy to Use

With LightCMS, clients will login to their site and edit right from the page. They can easily change existing content, and they can also add new elements, such as text areas, blogs, photo galleries, event calendars and forms.

3 - Support

One of the down sides to using a free CMS for clients is a lack of support. In many cases there will be forums or documentation, but since LightCMS is both a hosting account and a CMS, clients can get support from Element Fusion.

4 - Includes Hosting

Although free content management systems are available, clients will be paying for hosting in one way or another. Of course, prices will vary greatly according to the needs of the client, but in some cases the cost of using LightCMS for clients will be comparable to what they would be paying just for hosting.

How to Set Up Your First Site with LightCMS:

As I mentioned earlier, you can set up an unlimited number of free websites, which is a great way to get familiar with LightCMS before using it on a client website. The basics of the system are very simple and easy to grasp, but you’ll also want to get familiar with the code output so you know how to style it appropriately, and so you know what is possible with the system.

In this tutorial we’re going to walk through the process of signing up for a free 3-page website and setting it up with LightCMS. First, go to the Reseller page and you’ll see a button at the top that says “sign up now.”

Clicking on that button will lead you to a simple form where you can create your first site. Your free site will be at publishpath.com (although you can change that later), so you’ll enter the name for your site, such as http://tutorialsite.publishpath.com.

You’ll then be asked for your name, email address and phone number (email address is all that is required). After that you’ll set a password, check the box to agree to the terms, and you should see this confirmation message.

You can then click the login link, enter your email address and your password and you will see the dashboard of your website.

Unlike most other content management systems, when you are logged in you are actually seeing your website, plus some additional options. For example, here is what the default design will look like to anyone who is not logged in.

When you’re logged in, you’ll see all the necessary admin navigation at the top of the page, and also in relevant sections that have been defined as editable. For example, at the top of the page you will see links such as “page settings” and “add new page.”

In the body of the page you’ll see links like “text” and “add element.”

These links will show up wherever the page has an editable region in the code. There are a few different types of “tokens” that are key to sites using LightCMS, editable regions being the one that is used the most commonly.

By placing the code for an editable region in a specific location of a page, the user will be able to add a number of different elements in that location, including a text box, a blog, an event calendar, a form, and more. Where you are seeing the link “text”, a text box has already been set up in that editable region. To change the text in that box you’ll simply click on the word “text” and it will open the WYSIWYG editor.

To demonstrate how the system works, we will take a basic template, make some changes so it is usable with LightCMS, upload it, and start adding some content. I will be working with the CleanBiz Template from ThemeForest for this tutorial. This process will show you what is involved with taking an existing design and putting on LightCMS. Of course, the core concepts can also be used to create a site from scratch specifically for LightCMS.

Before getting started with LightCMS, I recommend that you check out some of their documentation about uploading your own designs. This gives some important details about what will need to be included with a template in order for it to work.

Your designs can have an unlimited number of templates for use with LightCMS. This is great for customizing a particular page or for building a larger site where you don’t want every page to look the same. There are three templates that we will be using for this basic site that we are creating:

1 - Admin Template - Controls the admin dashboard.

2 - Homepage Template

3 - Inside Template - Controls the secondary pages.

The design must have an admin template and a homepage template for it to work, others can be used as needed. We’ll start with the homepage. The homepage template must be named “home.html” and it must have at least one editable region, named “MainContent.” Other editable regions can be named however you choose.

To start with, we’ll open up the index.html file in the CleanBiz template and rename it home.html so it is compatible with LightCMS.

The main content section on the homepage of this template starts with the H2 “Sample Article 1.”

The token for an editable region named MainContent is:

<$region name="MainContent"$><$/region$>

We want the whole area in the main content area to be editable. For now we will delete the content in the template and leave only the editable region in it’s place. The H2 tags and paragraphs were contained in a div with an id of “content” so we will leave the div and the code will now be as follows:

<div id="content" title="home content">
<$region name="MainContent"$><$/region$>
</div>

In the right sidebar of the template there is also a section “Something About Me.” We’re also going to get rid of this content and make that region editable by entering the following code:

<$region name="AboutMe"$><$/region$>

Now our homepage is titled home.html, and it has editable regions, including MainContent, so it is ready to go.

Next, we need to create an admin template, so we’ll create a new file called admin.html. The only requirement of an admin template is that it must have an editable region, MainContent, and the editable region must be more than 600 pixels wide. Of course, you can get more creative if you want to, but to meet the basic needs we will use the following code in our admin.html file:

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1" />
<title>Untitled</title>
</head>
<body>
<div id="adminarea">
<$region name="MainContent"$></region>
</div>
</body>
</html>

In the CSS file for the template we’ll need to style this div so that it is at least 600 pixels wide, so we’ll add the following code to the CSS file:

#adminarea { width: 960px; }

That takes care of the needs for both our homepage and our admin template, so now we’ll create a template for the secondary pages. We’ll create a file called inside.html. The CleanBiz template comes with a few secondary pages, including an about page.

About Page

We’ll use this about page as the basis for our template for secondary pages. So we’ll copy all of the code from about.html and paste it into inside.html which we just created.

Like the homepage, this about page also contains the main content in a div with an id of “content,” so we will leave the div there but delete all of the content. In it’s place we’ll enter the code for an editable region called MainContent:

<$region name="MainContent"$><$/region$>

Next, we’ll do the same thing that we did for the homepage by deleting out the content in the “Something About Me” section, and add an editable region called AboutMe:

<$region name="AboutMe"$><$/region$>

Now, we’re ready to upload our design and move forward. In order to upload the design we will need to zip the files. After you have zipped the folder containing all of your files, go back to your webiste’s dashboard, hover over the “My Website” link at the top of the page, and click on “Designs.” This will bring you to the design manager where you can make changes to an existing design or upload a new one.

Click on “Upload a new design” and browse to find you zip file. Then click on upload. You should then get a message that your upload is complete, and it will include a link to the “My Designs” page. Click on “My Designs”. Here you will see the options that are available to you, which includes the one that was just uploaded and the default design that is active.

If you click on CleanBiz (or whatever your other design is named) it will open a few options. Click on “apply” to use this design on your site. You’ll then be directed to the dashboard where you will see the homepage with all of the admin options.

If you click on the “preview page” link it will remove the dashboard links and you’ll see it as a visitor would, except it has a small bar at the top that includes a link to go back to the admin view.

You’ll notice that the main content area of the page still includes the filler content that was on the default design when the free site was created. Since that design also used the editable region named MainContent, the contents of that editable region will show up wherever we use an editable region with the same name. For example, if you switched the names of the two editable regions that we set up and put the MainContent region in the sidebar, this content would show up at that spot in the sidebar. Since the original design had no editable region named AboutMe, that region is blank for now.

Now let’s get the site back to what it looked like in the original Clean Biz template. To start with, from the dashboard, click on the link “text” above the main content area.

When you click on that link you will be led to a WYSIWYG editor where you can change the content of that region.

We want to highlight all of this welcome text and delete it. If you remember from earlier in the tutorial, the homepage of the CleanBiz template included a blog-like area with two headlines and article excerpts. So to get the same end result, I’ll click on the HTML tab at the bottom of the WYSIWYG editor and paste the original code from the homepage of the CleanBiz template:

Once the code is pasted in, click “update” and the page will be saved. Now we have the “Sample Article” section that comes with the CleanBiz template, but it’s now editable through LightCMS.

Now let’s move on to the sidebar. In the area where we designated the editable region AboutMe, you’ll see a link with a green icon to add an element.

Click on that link and you’ll be able to choose what type of element you want to add. We’re going to select “text”. Then click “add.”

You’ll see the following message that the text element is blank.

Click on the word “text” and the WYSIYG editor will open. Now we’ll be pasting the code from the CleanBiz sidebar (minus the code for the photo) into the text area.

Next, we’ll upload the photo. Place your cursor before the first paragraph.

Click on the Image Manager icon.

Click on “upload.”

Find the picture you want to upload on your computer.

Click “Insert.” The original CleanBiz template uses align=”right” on the image, so we can click on the HTML tab of the WYSIWYG editor and add that code to the image. Then click update. Now if you click on “preview page” you’ll see this.

The site now looks like the original CleanBiz template, but it has two editable regions.

Now we’ll create an About page, so click on “add a new page.”

Now we’ll enter the page title and the filler text for the about page.

Click “update” and the page now looks like this.

It still needs the sidebar content to be complete, so click on “add element” in the sidebar.

Click on “copy an element from another part of your site.”

Open the drop down menu and select the AboutMe section from the homepage.

The sidebar on the about page now shows the same content as the sidebar from the homepage. When you edit the content in this section of the homepage it will also change on the about page.

So we now have a homepage and an about page with editable content. This is just a very basic tutorial, there is a lot more that we could do in terms of working with the editable regions, but this post is already getting pretty long. If there is sufficient interest, I could do a second tutorial that covers the process of setting up some other features, like a blog and an event calendar. If you’d like to see that, please leave a comment.

Do You Have Any Experience with LightCMS?

If you have ever worked with LightCMS please share your thoughts of the CMS in the comments. While my experience with LightCMS is very limited, I do think it could be a great option for some projects. It’s pretty easy to work with from a design perspective, and I think the features will justify the cost for many clients.

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